Temba Bavuma to lead the Proteas at the 2023 Cricket World Cup

By Neo Poho

White-ball head coach Rob Walter has announced his 15-player squad for the upcoming 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup to be played in India from the 5th of October until the 19th of November.

Temba Bavuma will lead the side in his first 50-over World Cup and is one of eight players who have earned their maiden World Cup call-ups.

The experienced Kagiso Rabada will spearhead the bowling attack, which also includes the exciting trio of Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi and Gerald Coetzee.

The squad also comprises of at least three spin options in Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi and Aiden Markram while the batting unit is a formidable one as its led by some of the most exciting batters in the world game in David Miller, T20I captain Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks and Rassie van der Dussen with all-rounders Marco Jansen and Sisanda Magala completing the squad.

Upon the announcement of the squad Walter revealed that its great having a mix of experienced players and players who will be competing in their first 50-over World Cup as that will provide depth and a sense of excitement in the squad.

“Similar to the level of experience, we have endeavoured to curate a well-balanced group of players and skill, that will allow us to effectively adapt to the conditions in India and under the leadership of Temba and the senior group, I have the utmost faith this squad will make South Africa proud," Walter said.

Meanwhile, director of cricket Enoch Nkwe added that the World Cup is the pinnacle for every player, no matter what the sport is because as a boy it is something one dreams of and he is sure that the current players will all be feeling extremely proud to represent the country.

Here is the full squad of the Proteas' 2023 Cricket World Cup squad:

Temba Bavuma

Gerald Coetzee

Quinton de Kock

Reeza Hendricks

Marco Jansen

Heinrich Klaasen

Sisanda Magala

Keshav Maharaj

Aiden Markram

David Miller 

Lungi Ngidi

Anrich Nortje

Tabraiz Shamsi

Kagiso Rabada

Rassie van der Dussen

Article Tags


Temba Bavuma



2023 ICC Cricket World Cup

Rob Walter


    Most Read