Andile Dlamini headlines the SA Sport Awards nomination list

By Neo Poho

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies Football Team and Banyana Banyana goalkeeper Andile Dlamini has been nominated for the SA Sport Star of the year award at the SA Sport Awards.

Dlamini who has been on the headlines recently for all the right reasons was recently crowned the Sport Personality of the year at the recent Gauteng Sport Awards and also the Sportswoman of the year at the 3rd annual Gauteng Women in Sports Awards.

Dlamini who is also the current goalkeeper of the tournament at the Women's African Cup of Nations will look to claim the accolade in a bid to conclude what has been a perfect 2022 for the 30 year old.

Should Dlamini win the award she would have joined an elite list of great athletes that have also had their hands on the accolade like Tatjana Schoenmaker, Chad Le Clos and Caster Semenya just to name a few.

Meanwhile Dlamini's Banyana Banyana teammate Refiloe Jane has been nominated for the People's choice Award, the Banyana Banyana captain is up against Mamelodi Sundowns playmaker Themba Zwane, Proteas fast bowler Kagiso Rabada, Momentum Proteas player Ayabonga Khaka and swimming sensation Tatjana Schoenmaker.

Jane led Banyana to the 2022 Women's African Cup of Nations triumph in Morocco defeating the host nation 2-1 in the final.

After having rather a successful T20 Women's Cricket World Cup tournament by leading the Momentum Proteas to their very first T20 World Cup final, Momentum Proteas coach Hilton Moreeng has been nominated for the coach of the year award at the SA Sport Awards.

Moreeng who has also helped in shaping up and advancing women's cricket in South Africa will compete with Neil Powell and Rocco Meiring for the top award.

Here is a full list of all the other notable nominees:

Newcomer of the year:

Mustapha Cassiem

Simnikiwe Bongco

Marco Jansen

Team of the year:

Banyana Banyana 

Momentum Proteas

SA Rugby Sevens

Sportswoman of the year:

Lara Van Niekerk 

Shabnim Ismail

Michaela Whitebooi

Sportman of the year with a disability:

Donald Ramphadi

Jonathan Ntutu

Christian Sadie

Sportsman of the year:

Akani Simbine

Pieter Coetzee

Andy Birkett

Administrator of the year:

Cornelia Swanepoel 

Portia Dimu

Sibongile Fondini

Article Tags

SA Sport Awards






    Most Read