Parliament announces 12 recommended names for the SABC Board

By Parliament Press

The Portfolio Committee on Communications and Digital Technologies, having deliberated on its subcommittee’s recommendation on candidates that should be considered for appointment as non-executive members of the Board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation, has adopted a final report with a list of 12 recommended names.
 The names are Dr Renee Horne, Adv Tseliso Tipanyane, Mr Khathutshelo Ramakumba, Prof Franz Krüger, Ms Nomvuyiso Batyi, Ms Phathiswa Magopeni, Ms Aifheli Makhwanya, Ms Magdalene Moonsamy, Ms Rearabetsoe Motaung, Mr David Maimela, Mr Dinkwanyane Mohuba and Mr Mpho Tsedu. 
 The committee’s report will be tabled in the National Assembly (NA) for further consideration. The Speaker of the National Assembly will then forward the recommended names to the President for appointment in terms of section 13 of the Broadcasting Act. 
 The committee has also resolved on the recommendation of its subcommittee to include an additional reserve list of three names to cater for any eventuality, given the length of the process. Candidates on the reserve list are Mr Zolani Mathews, Ms Palesa Kadi and Mr Quentin Green. 

Article Tags



Communications and Digital Technologies


    Most Read